Fire and Fury by Michael Wolff

Fire and Fury by Michael Wolff was released amid mass controversy. Not only did media outlets either furiously promote or discredit this novel, but President Trump took to Twitter to vehemently reject both the novel and author. Naturally, because of all of drama surrounding this novel, I was super inclined to read it. I, like many others, hopped on the controversial bandwagon.

The purpose of Fire and Fury is a tell-all book about the first year of Trump’s administration in the White House. The topics that the book covers include: possible Russian collusion, work dynamics in the White House, campaign strategies, Jared Kushner, Ivanka Trump, Steve Bannon and more. Michael Wolff claims to have ample close connections in the White House, which allowed him to get valuable quotes and information from those in positions of power. However, these sources remain anonymous. Wolff’s Fire and Fury is written in tabloid-style, which makes it very easy to read, but also has me questioning the authenticity of the information provided.

That being said, I’m at a crossroads with this novel. As someone who consumes a lot of information (including cable news, journalism, online resources and books), a lot of this information did not take me by surprise. I was well versed in possible collusion with Russia. I kept up to date on the firing of James Comey. I had been following the constant rearrangement of those in power in the White House. I even interned at a political office during the duration of the Cabinet appointments, which ensured that I was extremely knowledgable about that information. However, I’m aware that not everybody possesses the same level of familiarity with the Trump Administration. If you’re looking for an easy read about the Trump Administration’s first year, I wouldn’t necessarily divert you from this text. I would, however, remind you to read smartly. Note that none of the quotes and information are credited. Note that this novel does not have any citations or references. And note how this book has more of a gossipy tone, rather than a professional or intellectual tone.

One of the most interesting features of Fire and Fury is the compilation of most people who have held positions in Trump’s White House. Wolff’s novel allowed me to become a little more familiar with people like Hope Hicks, and more knowledgable about how Anthony Scaramucci ever came into the mix. That being said, I think this novel offers a very interesting “replay” of the past year. If you take this book at face value, and realize that some of these “quotes” may not be real…you are provided with a pretty much accurate summary of the past year. It is interesting to reflect on, and you can determine for yourself how factual you believe this book to be.

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

Leave a comment